Architecture

Architecture
The new CAFA Art Museum, designed by Japanese architect ARATA ISOZAKI, is located at the northeast corner of CAFA campus at No.8, Huajiadi Nan Street, Wangjing, covering an area of 3546 m2, with total floor area of 14777 m2.
The new art museum is situated in an arc field, with a shell-like exterior formed by the curtain wall and the curved roof, just like a boomerang. The three entrances are respectively incised like the wing tips and corners of the boomerang. The glass curtain at the entrances enhances the transparency of the architecture; meanwhile, meets the daylighting needs. The celadon slates covering the exterior wall of the museum assort with the color of the architecture’s grey bricks. The whole external structure is orderly, harmonious, and clearly demarcated. When it comes to the interior of the architecture, there is no column in the middle of the architecture. There is just a capacious exhibition hall, which adopts a trigonal sunroof formed by a plane section of the shell, satisfying the need for light with the natural light. The whole architecture has unique shape and reasonable layout.
Designer ARATA ISOZAKI has abundant experience in museum design, who has designed 12 museums in total, among which, the Barcelona Olympic Stadium is one of his representative works. The CAFA Gallery is the first work of ARATA ISOZAKI in Beijing, as well as the first museum that he has designed in China. He pursues both the freedom and transcendence in design of the museum, which is superior to all his previous works in art, and freer in thought. ARATA ISOZAKI is very familiar with the oriental culture. The museum that he designed for CAFA, while reflecting the oriental characteristics, has incorporated modern design idea. What worth commendable is that the design is in harmony with the original dark gray courtyard-style architecture, which ranks first in China.
The new art museum finished is 24m in height, and 6 floors in total, including 4 above ground and 2 underground. B1 is office area, including lecture hall, studio, and conference room. B2 has the specialized painting and calligraphy conservation offices, including restoration room, lab, temporary and permanent collection warehouse. There are four floors above the ground: F1 provides clear public space for visitors, such as the bookstore, gift shop, cafeteria and the international conference room; F2 is a comparatively close space, which is primarily to meet the needs of permanent exhibition. This floor adopts the lamplight completely to avoid the harm of ultraviolet in the sunlight to paintings and calligraphies and fit for the long-term exhibition of paintings and calligraphies. The Art Museum attaches importance to the direction and changeability of lamplight, and adopt the world-leading German Erco lighting technique; meanwhile, in order to assort with the lamplight, its ground is paved with the relatively rough and compacted rocks from South China, which has solved the problem of lamplight reflex properly. In such a clear space, the only space parameter relating to the works is the changing light, which exhibits an ideal state of contemporary exhibition. What worth mentioning is that there is a 40m collection display room on this floor, which provides a safe and ideal space to displays the selected works. F3 and 4 are primarily prepared for large-scale exhibitions, without any column, just clear space. The Art Museum adopts a trigonal sunroof formed by a plane section of the shell to satisfy the need for light with the natural light and the need for various large-scale exhibitions. For example, F3 provides a large exhibition hall of 11m in height and about 1,000 m2 in area. Such space is not only fit for the traditional “white cube” exhibition method, but also exhibits the works fit for the site-specific exhibition. Meanwhile, there is also special exhibition hall to satisfy the needs of diversified special exhibitions.
The space design of Art Museum can meet the needs of various exhibitions, which is not at the cost of sacrificing the aesthetic feeling of the interior. In its interior, the Art Museum only adopts the curve element of large arc surface, and marks off many lays by using irregular curves. The combination of lines and plane incorporates abundant changes and has strong modern sense. For the unification of the internal styles, the Art Museum attaches great importance to the selection and application of equipments, in particular, the lamplight and display conditions, paying equal attention to practicality and beauty, for the purpose of creating perfect and harmonious internal space.
Since its architecture specification has reached the international level, it has attracted the eyeballs of the world, which assorts with the professional academic research spirit of CAFA, will definitely become the most important art museum for the oriental and western culture exchange in China.

建筑介绍

建筑介绍
中央美术学院美术馆由日本著名建筑师矶崎新(ARATA ISOZAKI)设计,位于北京市朝阳区花家地南街8号中央美术学院南校区东北角,建筑占地面积3546平方米,总建筑面积14777平方米。
美术馆坐落在弧形场地,外形石材幕墙与屋顶曲线过渡形成壳体,似立体回旋镖。三个出入口以回旋镖的翅尖和弯角切割而成,出入口大面积采用玻璃幕,增加了建筑的通透性,同时又满足了采光的需要。美术馆外墙覆盖灰绿色的岩板,与建筑的灰砖颜色相协调,协调中富有变化,整个外部结构整齐和谐、层次分明。美术馆内部中间没有立柱,形成大面积展厅,展厅采光利用壳体的一个水平剖面形成类似月牙形采光顶,以自然采光满足对光线的要求。整个建筑外形独特,布局合理。
设计师矶崎新先生具有丰富的美术馆设计经验。他一共设计了12个美术馆,其中巴塞罗那奥林匹克体育馆是他的代表作之一。中央美术学院美术馆是矶崎新在北京的第一项设计,也是他在中国设计的首座美术馆。他在这个美术馆的设计中追求自由和超越。在技术方面,美术馆的设计超过了他以往所有的作品;在思想上,表现得更为自由。矶崎新非常熟悉东方文化,他为美院设计的美术馆体现着东方化的特色,同时又融入了现代的设计理念,难能可贵的是该部分设计与原有的深灰色的院落式建筑风格相协调,可谓国内一流。
美术馆高24米,共6层,其中:地上4层,地下2层。地下一层为办公区,设有办公室、创作室及会议室等;地下二层设置了专业化的藏品库,包括修复室、研究室、暂时和永久典藏室。地上分为四层,一层为观众提供空旷的公共空间,设有书店、礼品店、咖啡厅以及可容纳380人的国际会议厅;二层是相对封闭的空间,主要满足固定展览的需要,该层完全采用灯光,避免了阳光中紫外线照射对书画的损害,适合书画长期展览。美术馆注重灯光的方向性和可变性问题,采用国际一流的德国Erco照明,同时为了配合灯光,地面采用较为粗糙密实的花岗石材,很好地解决了灯光反射的问题,使内部空旷的空间里,与作品发生关系的空间参数只有光的状态变化一项,体现出当代展览的一种理想状态。值得一提的是,在该层有40米的珍藏陈列室,为艺术珍品的展示提供了安全与理想的空间。三、四层主要针对大型展览,空旷的空间没有立柱,展厅采光利用壳体的一个水平剖面形成类似月牙形采光顶,以自然采光满足对光线的要求,可满足多种大型展览的需要,如三层提供高11米,千余平方米的大展厅。这种空间不仅适用于“白色立方体”般的传统展览方法,而且能够展示适合展厅特征的“场地特性型”作品。同时,为满足各种特殊展览的需求,设有特殊展厅。
美术馆的空间设计满足多种展览的需求,这种需求不以牺牲内部的美感为代价。在内部采用大弧面曲线元素,用不规则的曲线划分出多个层面,线、面结合富于变化,有很强的现代感。为了整个美术馆内部造型的统一,注重设备的选择应用,尤其在灯光和展陈条件上,实用与美观并重,打造出内部空间的完美与协调。 这样一座不仅在建筑上已达国际水平的美术馆,已经吸引了全世界的目光,再配合以中央美术学院的专业学术研究精神的背景,无疑将成为中国最重要东西方文化交流的美术馆。